Halfway through the year to 50!

Aak…how did I get here? I don’t feel like I’m living in my 50th year. Sure I have a few more grey hairs – and it takes longer to recover when I play hard outside (for example 3 hikes lugging my skis up to Mirkwood Bowl on Sunday at Monarch Mountain Resort and my body was telling me about it…oh but it was worth it) but I still like to do many of the same things I liked when I was 25.

Here in my 50th year I am in the process of rediscovery – I am no longer working that 40+ hour corporate job that brings in the decent paycheck. I am living in a beautiful little town in the Arkansas River Valley with mountains and trails – and of course the river – out my back door. The community is wonderful and I have made many dear friends in a short time. That is Salida.

A view of my town looking out from one of the trails I hike regularly.

The drawback, of course there is always one of those, is there are not many jobs in this town – not that there are many out there anywhere these days. I had one (a job) when we moved here a little over 3 years ago, but the economy took care of that.

It has always been my dream to have my own studio in a beautiful place that I love, and work for myself. It is a scary proposition, but this is what I’m in the midst of trying to figure out. I have a wonderful space – from where I am writing, a very supportive husband and friends, and we’re paying our bills.

I’ve always used the  ‘crutch’ that I am ‘too old’ to do such a thing – explore what I truly want to do when I grow up. Not anymore. I told myself a year ago that this phrase is banned from my vocabulary. And I’m working on trying to believe it – and discover what true passions are.

Yesterday I subscribed to Jamie Ridler’s enewsletter on Creative Living, and the March issue showed up in my inbox pronto. The subject line ‘stage your own age rebellion’. How appropriate when I’ve been trying to keep the faith in doing this.

I am in my 50th year – and today I am halfway to that half century birth date. I thought I should be doing something spectacular this year, and well, I really am. Life is a journey – without an off-on switch, so I am on part of this journey – to live the authentic life I love, and of course be able to make a living while doing so.

Do you need to stage your own age rebellion – and truly figure out what you want to be when you grow up?

3 Comments

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Friends, Journaling, Lettering, Outdoor Adventure

3 responses to “Halfway through the year to 50!

  1. Jody

    Love the photo. It reminds me of when I use to look down over Georgetown, CO. I envy you for where you live.
    Jody

  2. Hi Lisa,
    What a beautiful picture of your town. I just had to tell you 50 is not old. I started so many new and different adventures at 50. It was really a new life for me. Have a wonderful year and enjoy all that life has to offer. 50 is great!

  3. I’ll be 46 this September and I have no idea either where all the time has gone. Before I know it the kids will be out of high school. I’m actually looking forward to my 50’s. I’m hoping it will be my time to reinvent myself and have lots more time for me and my husband. I’ve got a list of things I want to do after 50 including a pilgrimage to Burning Man and joining Sisters on the Fly traveling around the country to rendevous in our glammed out campers…oh what fun!

I always love to hear from you!

