New Year Wish

Last Wednesday Jamie Ridler, on Wishcasting Wednesday, asked her tribe of wishcasters: What do you wish for the New Year? I have been ruminating over this, and about the word(s) I wish to guide me through my year.

I have just started reading Brené Brown’s book The Gift of Imperfection and what I wish for the new year is to live and love with my whole heart. I am deciding on the word(s) I wish to guide me on my journey. Pulling from her book, I have a few that I have been rolling off my tongue:

Wholehearted

Connection

Authenticity

I have a feeling they will all play a big part of my 2011…along with Ordinary Moments. Enjoying the ordinary moments in life help you to live and love with your whole heart. My Everyday Adventure illustrates some of my the amazing ordinary times in my life.

Brené says Authenticity is a daily practice. and I believe this is true. It may help guide me through my year, but it is not something I will be able to flip the switch on at anytime. It is something that will become part of my being.

I love her quote in the beginning of her book:

‘Owning our story and loving ourselves through that process is the bravest thing that we will ever do.

Some days I am better at this then others. Some days I know my stories, and other days I wonder who I am and what my story it. Owning my story and living and loving with my whole heart is something I wish to become intimate with in 2011. Living more authentically, and loving myself with my whole heart will help me better love others in the same way.

As I get further along in her book I may find other lessons that will help me live the whole hearted life I hope to cultivate. If  you want to find out more about Brené and her work visit her blog, Ordinary Courage. She offers such an honest and, well, authentic outlook on how one can approach life.

Thank you to Jamie & Brené for all of your inspiration. And thank you dear readers for your encouraging and inspriring comments – and your blogs that I enjoy visiting for more inspiration.

Wishing you all a year filled with amazing ordinary moments!

3 Comments

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Spirituality, Wishcasting Wednesday

3 responses to “New Year Wish

  1. As Lisa wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    What delightful words are guiding your way into 2011. A year of authenticity practice is a powerful year indeed! May 2011 be rich for you.

  2. Another inspiring post from the Mountain mermaid. I want to check out these books.
    Yes to authenticity Lisa.
    Hugs
    As you wish for yourself so I wish for you also

  3. I’m a day late, but the wish is still real & powerful.

    As you wish for yourself, I, too, wish for you.

I always love to hear from you!

