What do I wish to do one day?

This is the question Jamie Ridler posed this morning for Wishcasting Wednesday. I had been thinking about this on and off today, when I heard the news of Steve Jobs passing.

This quote by Steve Jobs – to the graduating class at Stanford University in 2005 – seems so apt as I was struggling to think of what I should  wish to do one day:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” ~ Steve Jobs (1955-2011)

Sure I could share my ‘bucket list’ of cool things I wish to do, but truly, I wish and hope that one day is today – and I am living that wish.

I don’t think that I have done this well throughout my whole life, but it is something I have strived for more consciously in recent years. I am not sure what I want to become – but I live a pretty full and fun life. I am not much younger than Steve Jobs, and although I do hope to have several decades ahead, I want to live each day as though it is one day.

I want to laugh ’til I cry with friends, I want to take care of our great earth, I want to have a positive impact on those who are part of my life.

On a recent spontaneous picnic with my husband...in my 'backyard'

I loved Steve Jobs story about the calligraphy class that he dropped in on – because he had dropped out of college and he could then drop in on the classes that really interested him. It was this class that taught him about fine typography and helped him to bring fine type to the personal computer – because he loved it.

I am a calligrapher, and some times I am afraid to share this because I am afraid I am not good enough. I have realized in recent years that this inner critic will never have a one day and one day needs to be today. Today I helped a friends daughter make a book to take on vacation – and she will use this for part of her school work. We added some different papers to the blank book, and I shared some of my journaling pages using colored pencils and playing with my writing. I sent her off and told her I hope she has fun with the book – telling her stories. On Saturday I will calligraph certificates at an artists reception for the Salida Artworks Valley Visions show. This sharing is a place of vulnerability, and it part of my one day.

Journal play - JRR Tolkien quote

What is your wish for one day? Can you live it today and every day?

RIP Steve Jobs. Thank you for sharing what you loved with the world!

7 Comments

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Lettering, My Salida Backyard, Spirituality, Wishcasting Wednesday

7 responses to “What do I wish to do one day?

  1. This is very well written… great post! Wonderful reflecting ❤
    Love what you wrote here " laugh till I cry", priceless!!! :] That is living.
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  2. Beautifully written – and a poignant reminder to live each day as though it was the only one we were going to be given.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  3. I spent a lot of last fall researching The Book of Kells. I completely love the writing – although I’m not sure if that qualifies as calligraphy or not. It’s beauty is so breathtaking.
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

  4. A wonderful post – I love it!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  5. What a lovely post – may all your one days be filled with much love, laughter and fun!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too!

  6. Great post! Thank you so much for sharing!

    May all your wishes come true!

  7. Great post and wishes! ~ As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.
    namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor) linked with Wishcasting ^_^

I always love to hear from you!

