Finding Joy in Everyday Moments in 2012

Life is short. It moves along quickly. Moment to moment it doesn’t seem that fast, but a year seems to go by in a flash.

Moments are filled up with life’s tasks – doing laundry, brushing my teeth, cooking dinner, going to the store, balancing my bank accounts.

They are also filled up with everyday joys – a morning hug from my husband, a smile from a friend, light fading from the mountain as the sun sets, a jaunt on the trails near my home,dinner with my husband and/or friends.

I have a tendency to get frustrated by not having enough time for all the adventures I dream of. I beat myself up for wasting time (yes, getting sucked into social media for too long included). I struggle to fit in all of life’s tasks. My emotions run wild and I fear not being enough.

These things all get in the way of my enjoying the beautiful, simple everyday moments life offers.

So one of the words I’ve chosen to guide my year is joy. It is defined as a feeling or state of well-being and contentment.

It is a beautiful word, and finding joy is easy if you let it be. I can too easily let the opposite emotion attach itself when things are not going just right, but really I have lots of everyday moments to be joy-full for.

My friend Susan just said good bye to her husband after he spent the past two years fighting brain cancer. During this journey she always inspired me by finding joy in their simple, everyday moments.

I am blessed with my health. I live in a beautiful place with a beautiful community of friends. My husband is my best friend and play mate and he supports me unconditionally.

This year I wish to let go of any discontent that arises, the fear of not being enough. I want to be intentional* in finding joy in the everyday moments of life.

This passage, which I found on the spiritual practice of joy on spiritualityandpractice.com, really resonates with me and how I would like to be this year:

Joy is an essential spiritual practice growing out of faith, grace, gratitude, hope, and love. It is the pure and simple delight in being alive. Joy is our elated response to feelings of happiness, experiences of pleasure, and awareness of abundance. It is also the deep satisfaction we know when we are able to serve others and be glad for their good fortune.

*Intention is another word to guide my year. Whatever I am doing – whether it is working on client projects, connecting with friends in person or on social media, playing outside or simply relaxing – I want to know that this is what I want to be doing right now, and I want to do it with 100% of myself – with intention (a determination to act in a certain way).

I would love to hear how you are being guided to move into this new year. Wishing you many joy-full moments.

5 Comments

Filed under Spirituality

5 responses to “Finding Joy in Everyday Moments in 2012

  1. Joy, joy, joy my friend. Keep writing these joy-filled posts! Love the art 😉
    joyful vuuuuugs!

  2. What an inspiration! May your year be absolutely FILLED with the abundant joys of living a full life, my friend! Hugs to you!

  3. Thank you, Lisa! Your words filled me with tears. Truly beautiful and inspiring. Words I needed to hear. Keep writing!

  4. Rae

    I bought a little necklace on Etsy the other day that has the word joy on it. It makes me happy. Somehow slipping it on confirms that I am choosing that in my life. THanks for stopping by and supporting my journey. ~Rae

  5. Pingback: Planning – ever a work in progress | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

