Letting my dreams come true!

I always dreamed that someday
I would create the life I wanted.

I always dream about what I want my life to look like. In the past I would then proceed to beat myself up when I didn’t keep up my end of the bargain for doing what it took to create this life, or when things just didn’t seem to go just right. Looking back I see that I’ve had plenty of fun and done many of the things I dream of.  Often instead of basking in the joy of this, and letting myself feel my dreams were coming true, I would beat myself up for the things I didn’t do, or only think about how it could have been better if…

It has not been until recent years – that I really took a good look at what my dreams are, and how I might make them come true. What I discovered is that my dreams are coming true if only I would allow them to. They may not be unfolding exactly as I some times imagine, but when I really look – life holds so much of what I truly dream of.

To get here it took getting pushed off a cliff into unemployment, and realizing that if I wanted to see my dreams come true, that I was going to have to take a bit more responsibility for my dreams. I was going to have to truly believe in me and my dreams, realize they may not always look like I originally imagined, and nurture and enJOY the one beautiful life I’ve been given to live.

In 2006 we moved to a small town in a river valley that is surrounded by beautiful mountain peaks. My hubby and I started building the space of my dreams. And then I had to reinvent my work life after being laid off from a corporate job, in a small town where employment opportunities are slim.

I’ve always wanted to have a beautiful studio, to be an artist and an entrepreneur. I thought some day that could ‘happen’. Well, things like this don’t just happen, only they do, and they can. It is not always easy, and it does take work.

Becoming an entrepreneur is a dreamy idea, and it also takes work to build a business. I am living both of these things as I create (in the space of my dreams) my beautiful, sustainable business supporting other creative entrepreneurs. Some days I still beat myself for wasting time, or not doing things just right. And now I am better at remembering that those things are part of the process, part of life – and try to learn and move on instead of spend hours and days beating myself up.

‘Meeting’ Jamie Ridler is a dream I didn’t know I had. When I was in the doldrums after being laid off from my job, she gave me the real sense that I can believe, and I can make my dreams come true.

Another dream come true was being invited to be part of her Dreams Really Do Come True guest post series – and working with Jamie to create the beautiful ebook: Dreams Really Do Come True…and yours can too. This ebook was born from Jamie’s dream to travel to Paris (and the reality of traveling there) and to help others believe that their dreams can come true, too.

Click here to visit her Dream Really Do Come True page and download the beautiful ebook that I (pinch me, please) helped to bring to life. You’ll also find my Dreams Really to Come True story within the pages.

I’d love to hear how you’re letting your dreams come true too!

2 Comments

Filed under Art & Design, Entrepreneurship, Everyday Adventure, Joy

2 responses to “Letting my dreams come true!

  1. Oh, Lisa, I’m so filled with gratitude as I read your post. Gratitude for our connection, for your dream come true, for your contribution, for working together on the book – for so much!

    Thank you for being a part of this journey. It was a joy to work with you on this and I’m so very honoured to be a part of *your* dreams come true. ((hugs))

  2. Just finished the book today and I finally made the connection between Lisa and the mermaid!!! *slaps forehead* 😉
    Loved reading the process of your dream defining and allowing to come to you.

I always love to hear from you!

