My Challenge …and Gratitude

18 November – Still thinkin’ about Mexico!

As the holiday season heats up and the end of the year is in site, I see many people joining daily challenges to post about gratitude, to write 10,000 words, or to create every day. I consider these challenges, and have always rejected joining in – for fear of failure. I have never been good at doing something every day – except brushing my teeth, eating and sleeping.

I sometimes feel bad about this, and then I remember to feel grateful that I can create my own path. There is no everyday challenge police. I might miss out on some fun and camaraderie, butI will not be thought less of for not participating. I challenge myself to show-up in my own ways.

I started contemplating these every day challenges a few weeks before my birthday in September, because I have also seen people start these type of challenges for  their birthdays.

Nine is undoubtedly my favorite number – I was born on the 9th day of the 9th month.  I feel there is something special in nine(9) for me.

So I was thinking I might take on the challenge to create 99 visual journal pages in 99 days. As the day drew closer and I could not figure out how to begin, let alone continue for 99 days, I rejected it. I did not want to set myself up to fail for my birthday.

Then I came upon the idea of seeing how many days it might take me to create 99 visual journal pages.
‘How many days for 99 pages?’ Challenge – it’s sounds like a spoof!
It’s a challenge, but there is really no way to fail.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before, although I have been slowly whittling away at 99 visual journal pages. And I did start on my birthday (These Moments…).

If I give myself credit for each single page (which includes 4 spreads and a series of 5 pages that aren’t all that visual) I’m up to 44 pages in 73 days. I also have a background painted, but I can’t call that page completed yet. Still, that’s a little more than one page every two days. It’s certainly a far cry from creating a page a day, but I’m going to venture a guess that this is more than I was creating before my birthday.

I am grateful for this self-imposed, fail-proof challenge.
I am grateful for the freedom to follow my own path.
I am grateful to be creating.
I am grateful to be sharing my challenge with you, and I hope that it offers inspiration to those, like me, who have a phobia of everyday challenges. (I know there must be a few of us out there.) Although I so admire the bloggers and artists that can create everyday, I don’t know if I’ll ever be that woman.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and I do plan to create a slide show when I’m done.

I’d love to hear how you challenge yourself to show-up? And if you’re one of those everyday people, I’d love to hear some tips on how you do it:)

8 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Journaling

8 responses to “My Challenge …and Gratitude

  1. So much fun today with Jamie and everyone. 9 is your number…. Love to see the slide show.

  2. Ooo I love the idea of doing the 99 journal pages!! I also love that you aren’t beating yourself up for not doing “10,000 words every 15 minutes for the next 30 days”! hehe I love the idea of the challenges but I need a lot more flexibility in my challenges so I may try borrowing the “99” idea in some way!

  3. This is such a great idea! And don’t be so hard on yourself, you are doing great and I can’t wait to see more of your work! I used to have a creative everyday project, not with others but alone – it was a 365 project. It was difficult! But the rules were simple; do something every day, NOT finish something everyday. This means I could take a picture, or write, or continue working on a drawing etc… something big, something small, anything! And it worked! I finished my project. 🙂 Maybe that’s an idea for you too for when you feel stuck? You don’t need to finish a page if you don’t feel like it, as long you have the feeling you have been creative. You’re doing a great job! 🙂

  4. I do find myself a bit challenged by challenges, Lisa – so glad you’re finding your own way with this one 🙂 xo

  5. Cool that you found a way to make it yours! Enjoy teh project., 🙂

  6. Pingback: Up to 71 pages | the mountain mermaid

  7. Pingback: My ‘Journaling’ Challenge is Complete | the mountain mermaid

  8. Pingback: Spring Practice | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

