Winter wish…as we approach the Solstice

winter-wish2012As I begin writing this post the landscape is bright grey, and it is blustery and cold. Snow is falling and and the mountains, and even the nearby hills, are shrouded from view. Sounds like winter, eh? Yes, and it feels glorious because the weather has been so wonky and very, very dry! This snow is very welcome to our parched landscape.

Back of S Mountain (the Arkansas Hills) after a big storm in '09

Looking out on the b ack of “S” Mountain (the Arkansas Hills) after a big storm in ’09

My wish for this winter is that we have a winter.

Colorado has been experiencing extreme drought. Last year the Colorado Rocky Mountains had one of the worst snow years on record and the warm spring melted all the snow we had very quickly; the Arkansas River never swelled – reservoirs were tapped. Wild fires were a big issue, not to mention the impact this drought has on our economy (both agriculture and tourism). The ramifications for both industries are huge!

In other parts of the world big storms have created too much moisture and wreaked all kinds of other havoc, creating all kinds of impacts that I can only begin to imagine.

I believe our climate is changing.
I believe humans are part of this change, although I believe we are also part of nature so all we have developed to create these changes are part of what the universe had it mind.

Dear universe, my winter wish is that we have a winter, and that the climate everywhere begins to feel more (what we humans know as) normal.
I hope you know how much we truly love and care about our home – the great earth. And I wish for the great earth mother to help us to stabilize the climate for now, and for generations to come.

the lighting of luminarias - a solstice tradition in my neighborhood!

the lighting of luminarias – a solstice tradition in my neighborhood!

Lighting the way for a happy solstice and a beautiful winter for all! OK – it is still dumping, so I’m off for a walk in the winter wonderland:)

xox
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

Important Post Note: This post was inspired by Jamie Ridler‘s Wishcasting Wednesday. Click here to check out what other wishers are stirring up with their winter wishes.

5 Comments

Filed under Arkansas River, My Salida Backyard, Wishcasting Wednesday

5 responses to “Winter wish…as we approach the Solstice

  1. A beautiful post… and wish! As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you!

  2. Happy Solstice! Enjoy your winter wonderland. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you and the Earth as well.

  3. I can relate to your post the weather has changed, hope you get your beautiful winter snows. As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you!

  4. Sure need a normal winter here, also. As Lisa wishes for herself, so also I wish for her.

  5. Thank you, Lisa, for your beautiful prayer. As one season ends and another begins, wishing you peace….and a snowy white winter! 🙂 xo

I always love to hear from you!

