Mirkwood Adventure

RunSign

Even with all the doom and gloom talk of drought conditions in Colorado, there is still plenty of snow fun to be had. And a girl just has to take advantage of fresh powder and create a little adventure.

One of my favorite spots at Monarch Mountain is Mirkwood.

Who can resist skiing runs called
Orcs, Elation, and Mirkwood Bowl…

Ready-toHike…even when I have to hike to get there. I have to admit that my giant grin is because I actually LOVE the hiking part, too!

Turns-in-the-bowl

Of course making turns is always good for a grin or two, and a few yipees.

Looking Back on Mirkwood Bowl

Looking Back on Mirkwood Bowl

Reflection-inTim

Reflected in my hubby’s goggles

Making our way through the woods and back to the main ski area (and the chairlift), to do it all over again, is the last part of the Mirkwood adventure. I think Frodo and Bilbo Baggins would be proud!

I’d love to hear how you create adventures close to home.

Happy Adventuring!

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

P.S. This is one of the ways I love to explore and play outdoors…which is part of my mountain mermaid manifesto. Be sure to check it out – you can create your own mermaid manifesto, too, to help you create a life you’re passionate about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, My Salida Backyard, Outdoor Adventure

I always love to hear from you!

