Gone Skiin’

Nanuks

Also known as Salida Slackin’ where I live.

Either way the past four days have been SNOW amazing! Our little ski area and the surrounding back country received about four feet of snow in as many days.

Waking up to a 20″ snow report on Thursday morning made me happy for the flexibility of being a creative entrepreneur. And fortunately I did not have any absolute deadlines for my beautiful clients that morning, so I was waiting for the lift before it started running (and don’t worry I wasn’t lonely, there were a whole slew of Salida Slackers in attendance).

One thing I did slack on was getting a post up on the mountain mermaid on Thursday. I’m working on having things done a little in advance, having things planned out – but it definitely does not always happen.

No camera on Thursday either, but here (below) is a look at Saturday – playing in the back country.

Day Begins: Hiking Up Snowstake with a Big Blue Sky

Day Begins: Hiking Up Snowstake with a Big Blue Sky

A little later...hiking in the snow

A little later…hiking in the snow

Snow blankets an old downed tree (and just about everything really:)

Snow blankets an old downed tree (and just about everything really:)

Big Backcountry Grin

Big Backcountry Grin

Somehow I didn’t getting any pictures of making turns. Hmmm… I think we were having too much fun to stop then.

Today (Sunday) we woke to another 12″ on the Monarch snow report.
(Confession – I love having my iPad right by my bed so I can check the snow report without actually getting up!)

Despite being tired from yesterday’s adventure the snow reported rallied some energy. My hubby and I were not quite waiting for the chair to start running, but pretty close. Monarch has been packed the past several days…snow is good for business when you’re a ski area:) And its always fun to know lots of folks getting on the chair and meet new peeps, too.

Garfield Lift - Started the Day with Big Blue Again

Garfield Lift – Started the Day with Big Blue Again

On the Lift with My Sweetie

On the Lift with My Sweetie

My Turns are in there somewhere...Tele Alley

My Turns are in there somewhere…Tele Alley

The Day Turned to Winter Again - the Top of Elation, Mirkwood

The Day Turned to Winter Again – the Top of Elation, Mirkwood

Powder = Big Grins

Powder = Big Grins

Hmmm…no turning pictures again. Trust me – I made a bunch, and it was fun!

I trust you’ve had some big grins and fun the past few days. Please share – I always love to hear from you.

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid.

1 Comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Outdoor Adventure, Playing

One response to “Gone Skiin’

  1. Great posting, love the pictures and the positive energy. I have many memories of powder days at Monarch, I was there next to you in spirit Lisa!

I always love to hear from you!

