Balance or Juggle or…?

Tim-Cairn

I always have so many things I want to do. As an active mountain diva who also loves to create,  I developed a mantra for myself: balance of art and active. It never seemed to work to my satisfaction. On days that I was out playing I often felt I should be spending the time creating. Some days I felt like a slug, and I never created ‘enough’.  And there were other things that needed to fit into the balance mix – like work and sleep and eat.

Recently I’ve been thinking about this concept again – as I continue the work to integrate all of my desires in my life and feel content with where I am. The journal page below shows words, that are currently feeling important to me, balancing as a cairn might balance rocks (as seen at the top of this post).

Balance_Feb2013

I decided to look up the definition of balance, and I found nine on Merriam-Webster.com. Nine definitions that all have similarity, yet only a few phrases (which I’ve bolded below) feel like they ring true for my balancing act.

Balance \ba-len(t)s\

1 : an instrument for weighing: as
a : a beam that is supported freely in the center and has two pans of equal weight suspended from its ends
b : a device that uses the elasticity of a spiral spring for measuring weight or force
2 : a means of judging or deciding
3 : a counterbalancing weight, force, or influence
4 : an oscillating wheel operating with a hairspring to regulate the movement of a timepiece
5
a : stability produced by even distribution of weight on each side of the vertical axis
b : equipoise between contrasting, opposing, or interacting elements
c : equality between the totals of the two sides of an account
6
a : an aesthetically pleasing integration of elements
b : the juxtaposition in writing of syntactically parallel constructions containing similar or contrasting ideas
7
a : physical equilibrium
b : the ability to retain one’s balance
8
a : weight or force of one side in excess of another
b : something left over : remainder
c : an amount in excess especially on the credit side of an account
9 : mental and emotional steadiness

I looked up the word juggle, too. I’ve heard this word used in the context of what I’m considering and I wanted to see if that might be a better term to use.

Juggle \je-gel\

intransitive verb
1 : to perform the tricks of a juggler
2 : to engage in manipulation especially in order to achieve a desired end
transitive verb
1
a : to practice deceit or trickery on : beguile
b : to manipulate or rearrange especially in order to achieve a desired end <juggle an account to hide a loss>
2
a : to toss in the manner of a juggler
b : to hold or balance precariously
3 : to handle or deal with usually several things (as obligations) at one time so as to satisfy often competing requirements

Definition 3 fit the bill…sort-of…but the negative spin on it give me an icky feeling inside.

This discussion– about integrating all of my life desires/elements,  is one that I have with myself often. It feels good to share it out in the open – to try to find a new way to make sense of it. I’m thinking about making up my own, fun word for what I’m doing to integrate my multiple desires in life. And I want to make sure there is a healthy dose of self-love and compassion mixed in.

Of all the definitions pleasing integration of elements is by far the one that resonates the most. The phrase has grown on me as I’ve been writing this post. So maybe the word balance works…or maybe I just need to use the whole darn phrase.

Does balance or juggle resonate with how you’re life’s elements integrate? Or do you need a new word and a new definition?

I’d love to hear about your bal-jug-anc-gle? act! Maybe together we can find the right term for this. We’ve only got one life to bal-jug-anc-gle, so let’s make sure we enJOY it!

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

P.S. The Full Snow Moon rose big and beautiful a few nights ago. At Jamie Ridler Studios, Jamie asked “What desires lie deep within?” I created my dream board, but was not going to post it until I saw the word desire kept showing up in this post. It’s all related – so here is my desires dream board (that word create is also showing up here a lot:) Stop on by Jamie Ridler Studios to share your dream board, and/or see what others are desiring.

FullSnowMoonDesires-2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Dreamboards, Journaling, Planning

I always love to hear from you!

