Photo Essay: Sunday Afternoon Wander in Castle Gardens

CastleGrdn2

Castle Gardens, an area with some amazing desert beauty, is right near Salida (in my backyard*) on BLM land. I usually look down on it when I’m pedaling my mountain bike, but this past Sunday we took a stroll ‘through’ the gardens and found some cool surprises.

'Drip Castles' in Castle Gardens, near Salida

‘Drip Castles’

Old dead pinion with hoodoo

Old dead pinion with hoodoo

TimHoodoo

Tim up next to a big hoodoo

Old Juniper

Colorful old Juniper trunk

LisaCastleGrdn

Sittin’ & takin’ it all in

the toad

the toad

Or is it an old slug ('the toad' from a different spot:)

Or is it an old slug (‘the toad’ from a vantage point:)

Pin Cushion Cactus - with buds

Pin Cushion Cactus – with buds

Walking in the riverbed

Walking in the riverbed

This is a special place, and I feel enormously fortunate to have such an interesting backyard.* I love that my hubby and I can explore so close to home. Going here was pure relaxation and enJOYment. We’ve hiked here a number of times, but we always find some new vantage point or colorful detail.

Do you have any places you count as special in your backyard? I’d love to hear!

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

*backyard, for me, is anywhere close to home where I can play, explore, relax. It’a about a 5 minute drive to the trailhead for Castle Gardens.

3 Comments

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Inspiration, Joy, Self-care, Spirituality

3 responses to “Photo Essay: Sunday Afternoon Wander in Castle Gardens

  1. Cyndi Hart

    Hey Lisa! The Juniper reminds me of some of your art work ~ no wonder you were drawn to it (no intended pun). There’s a cluster of trails at the Pueblo Reservoir that is popular with mountain bikers. There is one called ‘Stonehenge’ where hundreds of cairns adorn the landscape. There’s a sense of sacredness when you enter. And it looks so different each visit.

    • I love the ephemeral outdoor galleries we have around here! I can’t wait to get to full moon explore with you around there one of these days!

  2. Pingback: Photos Essay: Playing with fall’s light & shadows | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

