AKAN messages – in progress

printing1

printing2

Gocco printing AKAN messages

Saturday is the deadline for art for ‘Letters, Unfettered’ – the spring Salida Library Art Show. I love to participate in this show each year: it always has a theme I can relate to, and the call is for all Arkansas Valley artists and writers. This is a place I can put myself squarely in the middle of.

So although I have a list a mile long – not the least of which includes blogging regularly (and sharing my Around the World in 365 story), my drawing challenge, developing my journals for sale, my monthly creative coloring download and Creative Dream Journals post – along with the regular things like client work, eating & sleeping, playing outside, yoga class and hanging out with my husband –my project for the library show has definitely risen to the top.

I won’t say all of the above things have come to a complete stand still…but this art project turned into something bigger than I originally planned, and I am committed to seeing it to completion. I’m even feeling cautiously optimistic that I might even like it when it’s done.

printing3

I’ve had so much fun with the process (which is  really the most important part) that I have let go (for the most part) of the many imperfections that have cropped up along the journey. Besides, if I obsess over my them for too long I will never get the project done.

The final piece will be a mixed media artist book that will include postcards I created from paper I painted, and Adinkra symbols I drew and printed onto the painted paper.

postcard-fronts

postcard fronts

postcard-backs I will also have a limited edition of the postcards that I plan to sell and use for mailing. You see, although I love this online world, there is nothing like finding fun mail in your post box.

I’d love to share with you – so if you love to get fun mail, please let me know about it in the comments. Four lucky readers will receive one of my postcards in their postboxes. (Please comment by Saturday, May 11 – the day the show opens, and if you’re chosen I will email you to get your snail mail address).

And if you’re interested in buying a few to send to your friends or loved ones, let me know that, too. Or just make a card on your own and send it off. I guarantee you’ll make the day of its recipient!

I’ll do a follow-up post with photos of the final piece, and of the show. My plan is to also update my Rivertown Press site with information on the piece and the postcards, so I’d love for you to stop by that site, too.

Happy Spring – and I hope you’ll consider sending someone special a card in the mail. You know you’ll make her/his day!

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

2 Comments

Filed under Art & Design, Book Binding, Creativity, Journaling, Joy, Lettering

2 responses to “AKAN messages – in progress

  1. Cyndi Hart

    Hi Lisa ~ and to add to your list of things to do, “go kayaking with my online friend that keeps stalking me!” Love looking at your art and frustrated because I can’t seem to find the time to squeeze some creative juices out of my own hands. Guess I’ll just drool over your art for now and float my boat every chance I get. Maybe adjusting my expectations to being a connector instead of creator for now. Thanks for the inspiration. Peace!

  2. Pingback: Sending Love with AKAN Messages | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

