New Beginnings

Newly potted and left front flower bed just beginning to come back to life

Left front flower bed just beginning to come back to life & newly potted (the deer had a feast last night, but I know everything will come back even stronger:)

It seems that since I have had a yard, and gardens in that yard – I meet each spring with anticipation. I am not a big fan of weeding (it’s kind of like house cleaning which, although I love a clean house, is not high on my list of fun things to do), but I do love having beautiful flowers and fresh veggies to eat. And I do love the creating and nurturing part, too.

The anticipation comes from thinking
about how the yard will evolve.

A rather crazy & beautiful wildflower garden had evolved in our backyard. In the past few years it has filled with tall sunflowers, bee flowers and many others.

Wildflower Garden - August 2012

Wildflower Garden – August 2012

We’ve had some lovely rain this spring, and I see the flax which gave us lovely little purple flowers to start the summer, popping up everywhere.

Tim just finished cutting down the big sunflower stalks from last summer

Tim just finished cutting down the big sunflower stalks from last summer

What will it look like as the summer progresses?

This year we started our veggie garden earlier than usual. A dear friend (and experienced gardener) brought me some row cover and insisted the greens would be fine under it – no matter what mother nature had in store for the spring. We now have quite a bit of spinach and lettuce ready to eat – along with baby bok choy, kale and on the way.

Last Saturday Tim planted the rest of the garden with seeds and some small plants (including some squash plants I had started inside).

Beginning of 2013

Beginning of 2013

August 2012

August 2012

I planted several large pots with annual flowers, and transferred some basil plants I had started inside, to pots.

Tiny basil plants and a cherry tomato plant

Tiny basil plants and a cherry tomato plant

Deck Pot - new addition last summer

Deck Pot – new addition last summer

Small flower beds also hug the house in both the front and the back (see top photo for an idea of what I mean). They were started (revived I should really say), by the woman who rented our house just after we bought it (and before we moved in). I have been nurturing these beds, and although I am not completely satisfied with the mixture of plants, each summer they provide much color, beauty and joy.

So what will happen this year? It always feels like the big unknown in the beginning. Things are just beginning to sprout in some places, and are still barren in others. Will my pots fill out, bloom & thrive? Will our tomato and squash plants bear lots of fruit?

I am certainly not wishing the summer to be further along. I have grown to enjoy this anticipation as part of the journey – while trusting that the gardens will evolve and grow in the beautiful way they should.

I find this garden cycle a beautiful analogy
for cycles in life.

There are times when we are just beginning, and times when we are in full bloom. And then, of course, there are usually fallow times. Thinking of the cycle of growth in my garden helps me to remember that these fallow times are a resting period – and that these are important parts of the cycles in life. It also reminds me how important it is to take care of myself – as I care for my garden (even if weeding is not always my favorite project:)

How does your garden
(flowers/vegetables and life) grow?

I’d love to hear from you.

xox,
Lisa, the mountain mermaid

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Gardening, Inspiration, Joy, Playing, Self-care

I always love to hear from you!

