Sending Love with AKAN Messages

love-note-images

Recently I joined Jennifer Belthoff’s Love Notes Project – I love sending and receiving fun mail…and it seems to be a fading communication form. This past Sunday was the first week of the project, and I was excited to send my ‘penpal’ one of my creations from my recent AKAN messages series. I hope you enjoy receiving it, Bethany, as much as I enjoyed sending it.

postcard-mailing

Last week, before the Love Notes Project began, I sent out a handful of the postcards to some other loved ones. I was excited to hear that a few have definitely made it to their destinations…and made the recipients’ day!

AkanMsgsBook1

The inspiration for creating these postcards came from the annual Salida Library spring art show theme. This year’s theme, Letters Unfettered, challenged artists to use an alphabet other than our traditional Roman alphabet. I created the postcards with Adinkra symbols of the AKAN people and made them into a book. You can read a bit about my process here. If you’re local, you can see my book in person – through ArtWalk, June 30.

If you love the cards you see here, and want to make a friend’s day – I am selling sets of four (one of each design) – just click here! You can learn more about the symbols there, too!

I hope you’ll find reason to send out a “love note” soon. It will make your loved-one’s day – I promise!

Happy Solstice – Happy Summer!

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

P.S. I’m giving away a set of four postcards (one of each design in the series) so you can send out your own love notes. All you need to do is leave me a comment (by next Thursday 6/27) and let me know whether you like to send and receive fun mail! Thanks for stopping by.

4 Comments

Filed under Art & Design, Book Binding, Creativity, Friends, Inspiration, Joy, Lettering, My Salida Backyard

4 responses to “Sending Love with AKAN Messages

  1. Cyndi Hart

    What a great way to share your creative heart. I love my AKAN message postcard. It’s above my computer ~ a place where my eyes tend to rest when I’m thinking. Thanks for your thoughtful gift. Peace & Love.

  2. So pretty! I’m involved in the Love Notes project too, and love to create my own postcards, but I’d definitely love to win a few to simply write and send : )

  3. Pingback: Wow: kingfisher | the mountain mermaid

  4. Pingback: Nine is my favorite number because… | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

