Wow: kingfisher

kingfisher_sm

I’m always pedaling casually along this stretch – going through Smeltertown and down along the river. It is the end of my ride, and I love to soak in the sights, smells and sounds along the river. On this day my scan caught a kingfisher sitting high on a reddish wire that goes across the river.

I slowed to a halt and watched him for a second before he zoomed off.

Kingfishers are so distinctive looking – it’s an honor to see these majestic little creatures as they are few & elusive along the Arkansas River.

I often hear their twittering chirp before I see them, but I did not hear this little one at all. It was a short encounter, but significant.

Another wow is that I came home and felt compelled to draw him. As you may know if you’ve been reading along I have a desire to draw more, and I so resist sitting down to do it. It feels wonderful when something just pours out of me they way this little drawing did.

I did not have a camera with me, and sometimes the best view is in the moment (I’m sure I would have missed half the connection if I’d tried to pull out a camera – or my phone, which I did have) I created this image from my mind’s eye, and a little help from this reference image I found on the web.

This (I’ll call it birdwatching) is my first official ‘capture’ for ‘Capture the WOW‘ – a fun summer scavenger hunt with Cynthia Morris. What a great way to implant in your memory some of your great experiences of the summer. I hope you’ll consider joining in.

Happy Summer!

xox,
Lisa – aka the mountain mermaid

P.S. Here in my valley, in the heart of the Colorado Rockies – right now we are in the midst of daily eery, smoke-filled skies that remind me that other are probably not finding it so easy to capture the wow of their summer. My heart and prayers go out to the many that are directly affected by these terrible wild fires. I hope that one of my wows will be about lovely soaking rains!

P.S.S. There is still the opportunity to win a set of my AKAN messages postcards. Drop by and leave a comment here by Thursday to be entered!

3 Comments

Filed under Capture the Wow!, Journaling, Playing

3 responses to “Wow: kingfisher

  1. Love it! I, too, am training myself to stop long enough to draw something. I realized it can just be 5 minutes, or 3 traffic light changes. It doesn’t have to be long.

    Thanks for sharing your wow, Lisa!

  2. Cyndi Hart

    I love your King Fisher portrait! And suggesting that your summer of capturing the Wow can’t go without you joining the Wild Outdoor Women (with kayaks) aka W.O.W. on a paddle trip! Wheeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

  3. Hi Lisa – it’s nice to meet you via Cynthia’s Capture the Wow Scavenger hunt. Your kingfisher drawing is enchanting! I love that you ‘captured’ it with your memory/imagination!

    These wonderful birds never cease to amaze and delight me – I love their antics, their distinctive/abrasive calls as they are hunting. We’re surrounded by water here on the Olympic Peninsula – and It’s always a good day when I hear/spot one on my walks.

    See you in the wow zone! thanks for the inspiration today!

    In Delight,
    Frances

I always love to hear from you!

