Mother Nature’s Garden Showcase

Bluebells & paintbrush

I loved the inspiration of company to do something I might not otherwise. It’s wildflower season, and my visiting sister was the perfect excuse to go to a beautiful alpine locale for a hike, this past weekend.

Lucinda & Lisa

Mother Nature was definitely putting on a glorious show for us: I was in awe of all the beautiful flowers we found along the way. Here’s a peek at just a few:

Columbine - Colorado's delicate, yet tough, state flower

Columbine – Colorado’s delicate, yet tough, state flower

Paintbrush

Indian Paintbrush

parryPrimrose

Parry’s Primrose

Penstemon

Penstemon

Elephanthead

Elephant Heads

We found this amazing example of nature’s gardens hiking along the Alpine Tunnel trail, which also offered beautiful panoramas

panorama1

…and the railroad grade is perfect for visitors from sea level (you can even see the old railroad ties in some places, too).

TrailWoodsI’m so happy I got to share my ‘backyard’ with my sis and her hubby — so happy I got to spend time with my sis, who I had not seen in nearly 7 years!

LuFredLisa

Visitors or no  – I encourage you to get out and enjoy the ‘special’ that your backyard has to offer in the summer. It’ll be gone before your know it.

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

1 Comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Friends, Joy, My Salida Backyard, Outdoor Adventure, Playing

One response to “Mother Nature’s Garden Showcase

  1. Great flower photos, Lisa. Enjoyed our chance meeting by the river!

I always love to hear from you!

