On the Road…Gandalf’s First Adventure

My hubby and I are (camper) van people.

Gandalf1

Gandalf is our shiny new van that he spent the summer customizing…

…with insulated walls, beautiful cabinetry, a bed (that panel on the right, in the photo below, folds down to make a full double bed),

Gandalf2

a refrigerator, a sink, and even a stainless steel counter top. (I’m hoping for one of these in our permanent home one day:)

Gandalf4

I finally got my first overnight in Gandalf just a few weeks ago (I’ve missed our summer outings in a big way)…and that is about to change.

Today we leave for a two plus week grand adventure.

The basic plan is Fruita, CO > Great Basin NP > Yosemite NP > Big Sur, CA> Bay Area, CA (meeting a client, staying with friends) > Marin > CA Wine Country > Lake Tahoe, CA > Salt Lake City, UT > and back to Salida, CO

With the exception of a weekend with friends in the Bay Area, Gandalf will be home. I figure we should have plenty of time to bond during these few weeks…and who knows what kind of adventures we’ll create.

This trip will also be big ‘location independence’ practice for me. I plan to work some (all my clients know I’m going to be on the road) and play some. Hopefully I can split up work and play without too much stress on either side.

I have a few fun posts scheduled while I’m away, so I won’t be disappearing completely. And although I may not share our road trip adventures here until I return, I’m sure I’ll share and picture or two on Facebook along the way.

I am giddy with excitement for the adventure ahead. What adventures, big or small, do you have planned this month?

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

2 Comments

Filed under Adventure Travel

2 responses to “On the Road…Gandalf’s First Adventure

  1. Cyndi Hart

    Oh my, how exciting Lisa! One of my goals this summer was to camp at least 5 times this summer ~ I have 1 to go. My next adventure will be kayaking under the full moon and camping. You are certainly an inspiration to “up” my joy level. More camping. Much more!!!

  2. Pingback: Gandalf’s Curtains | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

