Fall Foliage Jaunt

CochatopaCrkLeaves2

Sunday was a spectacular fall day, and it beckoned me to go outside and be amongst the colors that are lighting up the mountain sides.

CochatopaCrkLeaves4

So my hubby and I took a drive up to a valley called Little Cochetopa Creek (OK – I’m not sure that is really the name of the valley) where we hiked up an old road that follows along the Creek.

Quite a bit of early snow has fallen on the peaks, and the affect on the aspens was interesting…some trees beyond peak, many trees with still greenish leaves, and then these deep burgundy leaves you see below.

CochatopaCrkLeaves3

I have not seen dark leaves, that still have plenty of moisture in them, in such abundance before. They almost look like they got burned from the cold or snow – and yet they are still a beautiful color, especially with the sun shining through them.

Reading a post on my friend Stacey’s blog, Running Monologue, earlier today I was reminded of being present. This something that is always a challenge as my mind loves to swirl with ideas. As I thought back on my Sunday jaunt I remember going in and out of this state of being present. Ideas about design and business would begin to fill my head, and I would consciously push them aside for the feeling of the warm fall sunshine on my shoulders, the rustle of leaves in the breeze, and little details along the trail.

leaf&dropletI am grateful for these moments where I come back to being, where my mind lets go of all thought and fully embraces the moment and the beauty of this one wild and precious life.

T&L

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?
The Summer Day, by Mary Oliver

As much as I enjoy the road, it is good to be home! I love this transitional time of year in my backyard – with its beautiful sunny days, and crisp nights.

Enjoy your transitional season, wherever it may be.

xox,
Lisa, aka the mountain mermaid

1 Comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, My Salida Backyard, Playing, Spirituality

One response to “Fall Foliage Jaunt

  1. How beautiful! Love the photos– you have a way of making me feel like I’m there and feel the crisp, fall air. And, yes, there’s something to this whole “mindfulness” thing, right? 🙂 It’s a daily practice.

I always love to hear from you!

