The seasons they go ’round and ’round

And the seasons they go ’round and ’round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time

There’ll be new dreams, maybe better dreams and plenty
Before the last revolving year is through.
~excerpted from The Circle Game by Joni Mitchell

This song by Joni Mitchell, specifically the line And the seasons they go round and round, came to mind as I was on a lunch time outside jaunt late last week. I have a few trail loops I love to take, and each time the views are the same yet different.

OurayFall2013

As I wandered, my mind began to reflect on the seasons of the seven years I’ve lived here in the upper Arkansas River Valley – how the trails have evolved, how the views change with the season, how the river ebbs and flows.

OurayPics
ArkRiverSpring

These experiences are a true reminder that the seasons go round & round. Not only are the trails, mountains & river evolving – I am evolving.

I notice that although I’m still eager to play outside, I have slowed down. More thought and self-compassion are in the choices I make for what I do and where I go.

I have to admit this is difficult for me to swallow some times. I want to be that woman who jumps on her bike or straps on her skis at a moments notice – off on a day long adventure, or hoists her back pack for a weekend outing, without much thought.

At 53 I feel the impermanence of life, and with that I learn more & more how to be with each moment, enjoying the evolving beauty of my surroundings. Those bike rides might not be as long and intense as they used to be, but I savor each pedal stroke and every passing rock and leaf.

And today I also want to be that woman who evolves gracefully, knows the limitations of her body, is willing to take care of it as best she can so she can continue to be a vibrant outdoor diva for years to come.

The only thing really constant in life is change – so while I experience the seasons going round & round I plan to enjoy every moment.

How do you experience your seasons as they go ’round and ’round?

xox,
lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

xx
P.S. I’m so excited! My 2014 Daily Musings Journal sample arrived this morning and it looks gorgeous. Sign up for my email list and be the first to learn when I unveil it. I’ve created a fun little musings download for you, too, when you sign-up.

1 Comment

Filed under Inspiration, Joy, Nature

One response to “The seasons they go ’round and ’round

  1. I want to know MORE about this journal!

I always love to hear from you!

