On the trail…in Nepal – circa 2000 + a Daily Musings Update

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After leaving the bustling city of Kathmandu at the end of September (2000), via a harrowing bus ride to Pokhara, we hit the trail to trek the Annapurna Circuit. Thirty-six days later we emerged from the region ever changed by the people, culture, history and vast natural beauty we had experienced.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our trek started in the low land region, at Begnas Tal,where we walked through rice patties and small villages; where the children spoke more English than their parents and led us to their places of lodging.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…not the most precarious we encountered

We continued over precarious seeming swinging bridges and along the main circuit trail, which which eventually led us up and over the 17, 792 foot Thorung La Pass. On the other side we passed through more small villages, looked at the Tibet border we were forbidden to cross over, picked apples above the village of Marpha, and then headed off through what felt a bit like Mirkwood Forest towards the Annapurna Sanctuary.

Whew – that is quite a quick and dirty recap for a 36 day adventure, but rather than stumble over details, I thought I’d just share some of the images I captured of our time on the trek.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tilicho Lake, 16,404 ft

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thorung La Pass (Tim & I are on the far right)

Thorung La Pass (Tim & I are on the far right)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apples at Upper Marpha

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Machapuchre, the Fish Tail Peak

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunrise at the Annapurna Sanctuary

I know that, like all places, Nepal has changed since our visit. And I am sure the natural beauty, the people and the culture are still a beautiful thing to experience. I hope to return to Nepal again one day.

Thank you for coming along for on the adventures – I hope they inspire you to create your own, where ever it is you wish to explore

And I hope that you consider taking the 2014 Daily Musings Journal along with you – where ever your explorations take you.

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

xox

P.S. I’m not used to adding promotional plugs into my posts, but feel called (that it is important) for me to get the word out about my new creation! It will be available for sale next Monday – I hope you’ll check back!

P.S.S. The early bird special email went out to subscribers this morning. You can still get in on the early bird special if you sign-up today – Early bird special ends Sunday 11/3 at noon mountain time.

3 Comments

Filed under Around the World in 365

3 responses to “On the trail…in Nepal – circa 2000 + a Daily Musings Update

  1. What an amazing experience, Lisa. I have always been so curious of Nepal and I admire you for having gone there. Such an adventure

  2. Sandie

    I’ve been waiting for this entry, missed it while we were gone, but I’m catching up now. Makes me wonder if I should go back some day into Annapurna instead, I know it’s different from the Everest region still. Did you rent some clothing and gear for this part of your trip? Would have been hard to bring enough cold weather stuff along I would think otherwise.

    • Hi Sandie – Thanks for stopping by. We definitely layered, and bought the extra clothes we needed for the trek in Kathmandu. And then we ditched some things when we were done. There was a place to leave things for sherpas, if I recall. The only REALLY cold place was Tilicho Lake, going over Thorong La Pass, and Annapurna Base Camp was pretty cold before sunrise. I hope this helps. I’d love to go back to Nepal again some day, too! I love following your travels – Scotland and Iceland sounded wonderful!

I always love to hear from you!

