Touring Australia’s East Coast (circa 2001)

T-L_Sydney_w

near the Sydney Opera House, towards the end of our Australia visit

We arrived in Cairns on Boxing Day (December 26, 2000) and spent about a month touring the east coast of this beautiful country.

Diving

First up was ringing in 2001 on a dive boat off the coast!

BanyanTree

waterfall

Jungle Tour

WhitsundaySunset

Sailing

Sail we did, on Freight Train a 65 foot ‘pocket-maxi’, in the Whitsunday Islands…well I laid about – lazy & luxurious – whilst the crew hoisted sails and ran about.

margs-noosa-friends

Margaritas with friends we met during our time in Nepal (Mark & Valmai, center). We spent a few days with them at their lovely home in Noosa – picnicking, swimming and relaxing.

shipwreck

While there we also took a day tour to Fraser Island, which included a long cruise along “Rainbow Beach” in a Landcruiser.

Lisa-drip-castle

I don’t have an exact recollection of this moment, but I think it was at Byron Bay. I just love that Tim captured me having fun making a sand drip castle!

AusDay-SydneyHarbor

We finished our tour of the east coast of Australia in and around Sydney. I loved that city, and one of the highlights was the festivities on Australia Day (including the boat parade above).

I hope you’re enjoying our ’round the world adventure as much as I’m enjoying reconnecting with the memories. On to New Zealand shortly…

xox,
lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

XX

XX

P.S. I’d love to have you join the band of intrepid mermaids exploring create, play and thrive with me (including a downloadable creative playsheet) via my monthly mermaid tales. Click here to join in!

Leave a comment

Filed under Around the World in 365

I always love to hear from you!

