World Travel Adventures – Final Installment (circa 2001)

HalfMoonBay

Sunset at Half Moon Bay, CA – circa 2001

This time thirteen years ago we were actually already back in the US of A – on a little California adventure with old friends.

We had just finished up our year of traveling, with two months in New Zealand and two weeks in Fiji, and flown back to California at the end of March.

I’m a little behind in sharing the adventures, but I would be remiss if I did not share some of the cool places we experienced in New Zealand and Fiji.

People still ask us where the favorite places we traveled to were – I loved all the places we visited, and I have to admit that I felt really at home in New Zealand.

Pippin

Maybe this was partly because most of our adventures were based out of Pippin – a Nissan Vanetta, that had been converted into a camper – who we rented for a good portion of the two months.

There were so many places to explore and adventure in New Zealand, and the images below share just a small bit of the sights, sounds, tastes, smells & people we experienced while there. It is truly an amazing place!

Fox Glacier

Fox Glacier

TongariroCrossing

Tongariro Crossing

Mt Cook

Mt Cook

Milford Sound

Milford Sound

Kayaking Trip along Abel Tasman National Park

Kayaking Trip along Abel Tasman National Park

Abel Tasman Sunset

Abel Tasman Sunset

New Zealand Road Block :)

New Zealand Road Block 🙂

Wharariki Beach

Wharariki Beach

~~~~~~~~~~~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe two weeks in Fiji were spent mostly on one its tiny islands. We were transported from Fiji’s mainland to Tavewa by a barefoot pilot who flew us about 1000 feet over the sea, in a sea plane.

On the island we spent our days scuba diving, lounging in a hammock, and exploring the island.

FijiCrew

The crew that took care of us were awesome!

L&T_Fiji

Fiji was the perfect rest stop before we headed back to the United States.

I hope you have enjoyed living vicariously with me as I’ve re-lived one of the adventures of my life time! Reflecting on this time has sparked the travel bug in me, and I hope to be taking more adventures – both near and far – soon.

I’d love to hear about your adventures, too.

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Around the World in 365

I always love to hear from you!

