Mandala Magic

PiE_mandala-collage

A few weeks ago I started taking Louise Gale‘s Mixed Media Mandala online class, and I’ve been having so much fun playing with these sacred circles using paint, paper and other media.

The mandala above starts with what Louise calls a ‘ghost print’ from another mandala I had painted and then ‘ghost printed’ onto another piece of paper while it was still wet. (The ghost print is the top left mandala in the image just below) Then I collaged and stamped for the rest of the piece.

watercolor-mandalas_web

Mandalas provide a easy and fun structure for creating. I highly recommend it as a relaxing way to just play with paint and paper.

nature-mandalaLouise also encouraged us to also get outside and find mandalas in nature. It’s not, of course, hard to convince me to get outside and play – so I also went on a mandala hike this past weekend. Living in an arid (high desert) climate and next to the mountains means the color at this time of year is still quite subtle. The green is there, but you kinda got a look for it. And when I do, I find the native plants to be quite beautiful.

What play did you partake in this week? I’d love to hear your play stories. And don’t forget play again this week – to thrive, playing is always essential!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

1 Comment

Filed under Art & Design, Creativity, Nature, Playing, playing is essential

One response to “Mandala Magic

  1. Sam

    Wow! I love the pic of the “outdoor mandala”! I want to go on an outdoor mandala hunt now, too. Thanks for the inspiration!

I always love to hear from you!

