Playing at Altitude

LisaChairShadow

Recently, as I was huffing my way to the top of Mirkwood, or maybe it was just Gunbarrel (both are lift accessed trails at Monarch that require some hiking to actually access:), besides being focused on my breathing — which I have little choice but to do when at 11,000 feet, I was reflecting on how much I love playing at altitude:

The views, the exhilaration of the sport (at this time of year skiing), my best playmate, and also the gratitude for my body being able & willing to play at altitude.

2014 was kind of a tough year for my body and I am finally feeling like I am getting back into form – but now that I am well past my half century birthday, I notice that each year I get a little slower and need to be a little more gentle with myself. Some moments it frustrates me, but most of the time the gratitude for being there and being able to play at altitude shines through.

Lisa-fog&sun

The photos above and below are at the top of the run called Gunbarrel – that I mentioned above. This lift-served run that takes a little hiking to actually get to is one of my favorites. And isn’t amazing what a difference a few days makes in the scenery. Both make me smile 🙂

Gunbarrel-fog&sun

T&L_chair

Me and my best playmate.
(And don’t you just love the reflections these goggles create:)

I am one happy and grateful mountain mermaid! When do you notice your gratitude shining through?

Happy weekend friends!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Joy, Playing, Playing at Altitude

I always love to hear from you!

