Create Adventure

L&T_JugHandleArch

I am just back from my Utah road trip with my hubby. Our time together adventuring are my favorite times we have together. Going away for road trips where each day rolls into the next and we’re still adventuring – well those are the best. It is nice to carve out space & time where you don’t have to get back to the regular tasks of life later in the day or the very next day.

So here we are (above) at Cliff Arch in Coyote Gulch – the fourth canyon we explored in Utah canyon country on our recent road trip. Don’t we look relaxed and happy? I know I felt that way – in spite of the physical exertion we expended each day.

CampsiteFremontPaintings

We spent two nights in Coyote Gulch, and I knew we were on to something when we stopped just below a rock overhang, looked up to see pictographs and decided it was time to camp.

Can you see the figures painted on the rock in the image above? The Fremont indians inhabited this area from about 700 – 1300 AD, so we figure these were created by them way back when. They are quite high up now, but we could see where big chunks of rock had fallen away, and I imagined them standing on a rock shelf painting these figures. This area is quite remote and the paintings are faded, so I feel grateful to have been able to sleep below them.

tent-viewEach night when I woke and looked out of the tent I saw the big dipper just over head – between the rock wall and the trees. (Although I did not capture the scene when the big dipper was out the photo to left is my view from the tent. It was magical waking to see the big dipper over head.)

Sometimes adventures have not so easy parts, too, but there can be good lessons in those. Like the day we came into Coyote Gulch. We dropped our packs at our campsite – not sure really how far along we were because we had not reached the first arch (Jacob Hamblin Arch). We continued our hike down the canyon with a lighter load to find the arch.

JacobHamblinArch

It turned out to be another hour plus hike down the canyon, and on the way back I almost regretted that we had dropped our packs to camp so soon. I was tired and in tears for the last bit of the walk back to our camp that afternoon.

But when we reached the campsite and I was able to relax and take in the specialness of the spot we had chosen I could let go of the tears and exhaustion.

Toes-inCoyoteGulchCreekThe next day it was sunny and beautiful and we were able to walk through the creek – down to the Juggle Handle arch. Oh the fun of sloshing in the water on a warm sunny day; the beauty of the canyon walls; and the time with my sweetheart for just that, made for a glorious day.

The next morning when we woke to the rumble of thunder and then a bit of rain it was clear again why we chose the campsite we did. Our hike out was much shorter than if we’d hiked further down the canyon with our packs. Whew – as we also had 30 mile dirt road drive out that could have been treacherous or impossible if we didn’t beat the rain.

Hole in the Rock road was fine on our drive out, albeit jarring from the washboard. But we drove through much rain, and even snow, once we hit pavement – I don’t know what happened to the condition of the road then!

There is much more to my fun getaway, but what feels important to share today is the feeling of adventure and love I felt on the journey.

Adventures come in all shapes and sizes, colors and flavors.

Adventure — of what ever your favorite flavor — is important!
It adds a sense of excitement and unknown to your world; a way to add fun to your everyday.

Summer is a good time for adventure. What adventure can you create to add some unknown and fun to your everyday?

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

xox

xox

adventureP.S. I shared this adventure play sheet in my mountain mermaid tales enewsletter that just went out to subscribers yesterday. If you’d like a wee prompt for creating your adventure, I hope you’ll join my band of intrepid mermaids and you’ll receive a link to the adventure play sheet in the next edition of tales – along with whatever new play sheet I create and share. Click here to subscribe.

2 Comments

Filed under Adventure Travel, Joy

2 responses to “Create Adventure

  1. Great post Lisa!!! Makes me think about the adventures to come for my family as summer is almost here!!

  2. Jeff and I are adventuring to North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia for about ten days! Working on the road and in between but mostly connecting with friends and having a blast! Thanks as always for the inspiration. Vugs! ♥

I always love to hear from you!

