A little backstory & tools for the adventure

DMJ-thru-the-years

The Daily Musings Journal began as my personal practice quite a few years ago, and I thought it might be fun to tell you the story…

It is really quite astonishing to me that my personal practice has turned into a wonderful creative outlet for so many. I love how each of our musings adventures can create a “creative play” memoir of sorts.

So — are you ready to begin our mini musings adventure together?

If you don’t have a 2015 Daily Musings Journal, and you want to give this a whirl I hope you’ve found your way to my web page where you can sign-up and receive a download of the journal pages for this week. Click here, if not – it’s free to join in the fun!

Today I’m just going over my favorite and most used tools…I’m guessing many of you have some form of these tools already in your tool kit. And if not, you can definitely begin with what you have.

Tools for the Adventure

markersI love using markers, and when I found the Staedtler Triplus Fineliner markers I was in heaven. I love their fine point, their array of bright colors and that they last a good long time!

Another important factor is they don’t bleed through the paper on the printed edition of the journals (which is a nice 80# stock).

There are other great markers out their – I know the Stabilo Point 88 markers are a favorite of my friend Lindy over at The Collage Cafe.

Sharpies, on the other hand, will bleed through…they bleed through on most text weight stock. I love Sharpies for some things, but not my musings adventure.

I also like gel pens although they don’t have the same writing smoothness (for me) as markers (for me), and some of these will bleed through.

I always recommend testing a pen you have not used before. I did not create a page specifically for that in the journal (on the 2017 edition list:), but there are plenty of musings pages that you could devote one to testing if you wanted to.
Pencils

Colored pencils are another favorite tool, and my favorite is the Prismacolor Premier Pencils. They are so creamy to work with, and blend really well. The downside to these pencils is their points break quite easily.

I have begun to experiment with the Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils. They have a harder lead, but still seem to go on the paper nicely.

Pencils-clos-upI like being able to make a nice point on my pencils – and any pencil that will do this should work just fine.

As you can see from the image on the right I have amassed quite a collection of pencils. I love my carrier (actually a jewelry case by Papaya Art), which I received as a gift, as it rolls up and ties together so I can carry all my colors safely in my bag!

collage-toolsThe other thing I love to do in my Daily Musings Journal is to collage inspirations with found words & phrases from magazines.

For this you need some magazines with words that inspire you, and that you’re willing to cut-up, some scissors and a glue stick.

I like to keep some cut-up words handy in an envelope…and I’ll talk a bit more about that in Thursday’s post.

I admit that sometimes I might make a quick pencil sketch before I pick-up my marker, so two final things I keep handy are a pencil and eraser.

For now I will leave you to muse over my story and where you want your musings adventure to take you. The only wrong way to do this is to not show up and play! And even if that happens you can begin again – believe me you won’t be alone. I often find myself beginning again:)

Thanks for listening to my story & going on this musings adventure with me. Let me know where you’re headed on your adventure (in the comments) for a chance to win a 2016 Daily Musings Journal.

And I’ll meet you back here tomorrow!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

 

9 Comments

Filed under Art & Design, Creative Play, Creativity, Daily Musings Journal, Journaling, Mini Musings Adv 11-2015, Musings Adventure

9 responses to “A little backstory & tools for the adventure

  1. Jean MacDonald

    I love the idea of using words and doodles to express the day to day happenings in my life. I am new to this but love to doodle and also use artistic lettering. I am so glad to see some references of pens and pencils you find as worthy of my jottings.

  2. Jenny

    hi lisa! i really enjoyed your debut video!! (hope there will be MoRe!) i have the pages printed for this little adventure, thank you for offering them, and for doing this 🙂 i also like the prisma color pencils-they R creamy. i recently acquired the polychromo pencils and will use them as well as my stabilos and staedtler fineliners. i’ve started an envelope of words/small images, stickers, etc for any collage i want to do. that’s a great tip-those elements will be at the ready instead of needing to stop and look for something. i really like how you designed the days in boxes. just enough space for the highlights and bits/pieces i want to muse about. looking forward to the rest of your posts!! see you tomorrow 🙂

  3. I’m looking forward to joining you in this mini-musings adventure! Today was a busy one, so I’m going to pull out my pens and colored pencils tomorrow morning, and doodle/reflect on yesterday while enjoying my morning mug of tea. Right now I’m using my old Creative Memories scrapbooking pens & my boys’ crayola colored pencils, but I’m thinking I’d like to treat myself to a set of better-quality pencils. Thank you for hosting this again – I loved participating back in August!

  4. I’m looking forward to participating again (I really enjoyed this in August, but fell out of practice when autumn rolled around). Right now I use my old Creative Memories scrapbooking pens and my boys’ Crayola pencils…but I’m thinking I may treat myself to a nice set of better-quality pencils. Thank you for hosting this again! I’m really hoping to be able order the 2016 journal as soon as I can find some wiggle room in our budget.

  5. featherpentrack

    Hi Lisa, Congratulations on this post and great little clip about your journey developing and sharing the Daily Musings Journal. Best wishes, Mairim.

    Sent from my iPad

  6. Thank you so much for this mini adventure, Dear One! It is exactly what I need during this insane week…time for myself…time for creativity. Now if I can just get out of my house…(I will send you the snow on the deck!)

  7. I LOVE your debut video, Lisa. Great inspiration to be allowed into your studio to hear the story of how the Musings Journal came to be. Thanks so much for also sharing your favorite tools, including the jewelry wrap. My musings pages are printed out; and as always, I love filling in the boxes day by day. It’s my favorite way to wind down the day, capturing insights through doodling. Thank you, Lisa!

  8. Pingback: Thoughts on Practice | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

