Working with Resistance

PracticeBeingWithResistance_700

Last Tuesday I participated in Resistance RX a webinar hosted by the lovely and wonderful Chris Zydel of Creative Juices Arts and Andrea Schroeder of Creative Dream Incubator.

I came away with a very interesting perspective on Resistance.

Resistance shows up when you want to grow and expand – which I have to say is something I’m working towards all of the time. Isn’t learning & growing what keeps life interesting?

So no wonder resistance is always hanging around…

Andrea and Chris lovingly pointed out that you cannot try to shove resistance in the closet…(it is not something you can fix). Resistance will always show up so you must learn to be with it, work with it, dance with it – own it!

OwnYourResistance_700

(both images are my doodles from during the webinar)

xox

Whenever resistance comes up, they coached supportively, it is important to sit with those feelings, and then move forward with baby steps.

Sharing is a resistance that shows up for me…

every time I want to begin a blog post; post on Facebook; share a new offering and how I am stepping into my role as the creatrix of mountain mermaid studios – resistance taps me on the shoulder and smirks at me.

…not because I don’t like sharing — but because I am afraid that what I share is not enough, that it is awkward & ugly. Resistance wants to keep me safe so I don’t say or do the wrong thing.

And…my heart wants to share inspiration to create play and thrive.

So today I am celebrating resistance and sharing with you in all it’s awkwardness:

I am the proud Creatrix of Mountain Mermaid Studios where I share inspiration to create, play and thrive – and some fun products and courses to help you on your adventures.

I am a work in progress, and I hope there is fun and inspiration enough to keep you hanging around to see how my adventure evolves.

And I truly hope that this inspires you to own your resistance and work with it, too.
I think it is going to make a difference for us!

What is your resistance? And how do you work with it? I’d love for you to share!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signaturexox

xox

P.S. Since I’ve been talking about sharing I can’t close out this post without sharing a little sneak peak about my new offering – coming later this spring.

MAJcoming_DMJdoodle

The Musings Adventure Journal is a new undated version of the Daily Musings Journal! Stay tuned for more details coming soon – Sign-up here!

5 Comments

Filed under Creative Play, Creativity, Inspiration, Journaling, Lettering, Self Discovery, Self-care

5 responses to “Working with Resistance

  1. Frances Ann garvey

    Thanks Lisa, this truly hit home for me! I battle resistance within myself all the time. I am deep into the process now of trying to convert my 19 years of volunteer leadership and multiple other skills into the “real world.” Also, as a VP of our large club, I fight inner resistance to defend/push/state my case/disagree with numerous high end execs on the Board with me. Stay at home mom vs. CEO (insert major company/hospital/law firm) but somehow they all treat me as an equal – why don’t I treat myself that way? Alas – looking for a not-for-profit position most likely…. thanks for the inspiration! (“go ahead Fran, hit the share button!) Fran

  2. EEEEEK!!!! I love it!!!!! And how amazing to see the snow falling from trees on a clear day in the mountains. A good friend of mine from Arkansas is in Colorado Springs, her pictures are gorgeous, like yours. Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. carol davis

    Lovely post Lisa! I really like this new way of thinking about resistance, bring it on! ; }

  4. I reelllly reeeellly needed to read this again today! Huge resistance to self care and my hearts desire lately. I’ve been participating with Jen Louden in her Oasis retreat and sitting with resistance, recognizing, and saying ‘this too’, so many helpful and doable tools. Knowing I am not alone makes me smile. You’re such an inspiration, big vugs ~L.

  5. Pingback: Let’s Get This Musings Adventure Started! | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!

