Mini Mandala Making & a Tangled Visit

mandala-colored_sm

The meaning of mandala is loosely translated as sacred circle. And there is something sweetly gratifying about creating a mandala using simple shapes. As I was creating the mandala for this post (finished image above and short video below) I was feeling super blessed and grateful to be sharing this musings adventure with each of you. Thanks for stopping by and joining in the doodle fun!

You can go very deep with the study of mandalas*, and for the purposes of the musings adventure I’m just looking at the fun and simplicity of creating a circular pattern.

The blank squares are the perfect space for a bit of meditative doodling to create a mini mandala.
There are so many ways to go about this – starting with an outer circle and working inwards, or building your mandala from the center. You can go free form or use exact measurements.

The mandala above was created totally free form (which is my preferred method:) from the tiny inner circle out. I often start by creating eight shapes around the inner circle, as I did for this mandala, and then working outward from there. You can watch my process for this mandala in the short video below:

Mandalas show up regularly in my Daily Musings Journal. Here are a few examples from so far this year:

DMJ-mandala-collage

Mandala inspiration is everywhere – from patterns on tile to flowers and fruits and vegies.

flower-collage

tile-vegies-collage

Where can you find mandala inspiration? What patterns will you try as you create a mini-mandala on your musings adventure? I’d love to see what you get up to!!

And before I sign-off for the day I want to be sure to send you over to Tangle Vermont where Sadelle will be sharing some Zentangle musings adventure doodling today. Thanks Sadelle for sharing your musings adventure with us!!

Thanks for coming along on the adventure and I’ll see you back here tomorrow for a bit of doodling collage inspiration!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

xox

xox

* For some great mandala inspiration check out the sites of a few of my mandala making friends:

Kathryn Costa at 100mandalas.com
Julie Gibbons at Julie Gibbons Creative
Louise Gale at LouiseGale.com

stickers-journalP.S. Giveaways Update:
Each day between now and Thursday I’m giving away the stickers that come with the Musings Adventure Journal (one sheet of each — see image to the left). To be eligible just leave a comment on the daily post. For today’s entry please share your mandala inspiration and creations 🙂 You can also enter (or for an extra entry) by sharing your doodling squares on Instagram using the hashtag #musingsadventure – tag me, too, @lisa_deyoung. Be sure to reference musings adventure mini mandalas in your description, too. I’d love to see what you create! [You have until Friday to comment on any of the posts and winners for each day will be chosen on Saturday May 28.]
Update: On Friday there will be a giveaway of one Musings Adventure Journal, so I hope you’ll stick around and let me know how your musings adventure goes!

MAJ_cover3D_500wxox

P.S.S. If you haven’t ordered your Musings Adventure Journal yet, feel free to hop on over here to check out all the details and get yours today! The Musings Adventure Journal includes a few full page color-in mandalas for you to embellish.

And if you haven’t signed up for the May Mini Musings Adventure and you want to play along – check out the deets here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Creative Play, Creativity, Daily Musings Journal, Journaling, Mini Musings Adventure 5-2016, Musings Adventure

5 responses to “Mini Mandala Making & a Tangled Visit

  1. Elaine Scott

    Thanks for taking the time to add your videos to your post! They give me inspiration to use the daily musing pages for my thoughts and brighten them with doodles and color.

  2. love looking at mandalas and have drawn a few in my time. this may be just what I need to get back into the practice. thanks for the video

  3. Debra Marrs

    Thanks for your fab tutorial and examples of mandalas, Lisa. I’d never dipped into mandala-making until today. I posted my first EVER on Instagram here: http://www.instagram.com/debra_marrs/ Thank you!!

  4. Renee

    Thank you for doing this!!! I haven’t participated as much as I wanted but am saving these emails for next week when life slows down 🙂

    Thanks to @lisa_deyoung for the mini musings adventure. #musingsadventure

    A post shared by crush70 (@crush70) on

  5. Deanna

    My son and his girlfriend got engaged this week, so I made a musings adventure mini mandala with their names to remember the date. It has lots of hearts and sunshine rays!

I always love to hear from you!

