One snowy day…I had to decide

…whether to go for a walk or go to the ski area.

SnowyDay1

The snow had been falling continuously since the day before – and the ski area was opening (several days early).
I felt a frenzy – to be there, to ski powder. And I felt a pull in my heart to take a walk in my snowy back yard.

FeetBuried-inSnow

I decided to take a walk.

SnowyDay2

It was so white & black. The still silence was palpable.

SnowyDay4

I saw no one, not one human footprint, while I tromped through the stark & beautiful landscape.

And I savored the small details that captured my attention.

SnowyDay3 SnowyDay5 SnowyDay7

XX

MeSnowyDayIt feels kind-of foolish, but some times I find it difficult to decide – especially between two different play options. I can agonize over which option to pick – even when it really isn’t important.

And as soon as I started down the silent untracked path that snowy morning, I knew my decision to take a walk had been the right one.

The ski area would still be there. There would be more powder.

But the beauty & solitude I experienced on my walk that day was a rare treat.

I had a great day on the slopes the very next day
…and the season has still barely begun.

How do you decide when there really isn’t a wrong option, and you want to partake of both?

I’d love to hear from you.

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

XX
XX
P.S. There is still time to join the small band of intrepid mermaids who have signed up for another part of this mermaid journey – mountain mermaid tales (read more here, and sign-up here.) Sign-up by December 6 and be entered in the 2014 Daily Musings Journal giveaway. I hope to see you there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, My Salida Backyard, Playing

I always love to hear from you!