All in a day’s outside jaunt & more on Creative Practice

FstParkingLotTree

Contrast of sky and pink tree blossoms

DunesTrailMayGreen

Blossoms, of some variety, along the dusty trail

Ouray_7May2014

Ouray & Chipeta watching over the valley

I’m leaving on Saturday for New York, New York for a few days, so even though I felt tight for time today (isn’t that the way when you’re trying to get away) I had to get outside, and I had to test out my new toy – a Canon PowerShot. It is basically the same as my last camera, which is dying, but with a little more lens angle and megapixels. And there are subtle function changes which still take some getting used to.

Although I really like my iPhone for taking photos (and I have to admit that Instagram is a new addiction), it’s nice to also have a little camera with a few additional features.

I honestly didn’t feel that inspired on my little jaunt, but I couldn’t help but admire the contrast of sky and tree blossoms, and my beloved Mt Ouray. Spring is subtle in our arid valley – I wish I had come across some cool looking cactus to capture, but I did find a few buds about to burst along the trail.

Taking photos is part of my creative practice, too. To honor this, I’ve recently signed up for Vivienne McMaster’s Be Your Own Beloved photo workshop in June. I look forward to sharing what I create!

In the mean time – it’s off to New York, New York to explore the city and hangout with my nephew. I’ll also be going to my niece’s graduation in MA. I may be absent from posting next week, but I’ll be sure to share a bit about my adventures when I return!

In the mean time – won’t you join the small band of intrepid mermaids who receive my tales each month. I’ll be preparing my monthly tales before I head out at the end of this week, and I’m really excited about this month’s color-in play sheet.

I hope to see you there, and always feel free to drop me a note right here in the comments. I’d love to hear what you’re up to with your creative practices.

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Everyday Adventure, Inspiration, My Salida Backyard, Nature

I always love to hear from you!