Ebb & Flow

Ebb&Flow600

Earlier this month I spent a few days in Taos – at the Playful Pages art retreat. Ebb & Flow is the name I gave to the piece I created (photo above).  Ebb and flow applies to a river –  which I see in my piece. I experience this ebb and flow as I watch the Arkansas River near my home – through the seasons and through the years. Ebb and flow is also a great metaphor for how I often experience life. I even felt this ebb and flow during my days at the retreat.

At the retreat not only did I get to create my fun stand-up journal along side ten beautiful women, we also experienced a variety of Taos culture together – visiting Taos Pueblo, Hacienda de Los Martinez, the Millicent Rogers Museum and the St Francisco de Asis Church. There were also quite a few laughs shared – oh and a little bit of exploring Taos and shopping:) It was a jam packed few days – with space to breath.

TaosPueblo

Taos Pueblo

demo-blurry

Ink bloom demo by Judith (sorry — kinda blurry)

TaosSketching

Sketching during our ‘field trips’ on my ‘chalk pastel’ prepared pages

~~~~~~~~~

A funny found poem, created from a photocopy of a page from “The Classic Myths” that Judith gave each of us, is also included on my stand-up journal piece.
Ebb&FlowDetail

purpleSeasons.
glittered with diamonds
splendor of the scene
more beautiful
celebrate thee,
sunrise in purple
the Sun.
the light
memory of the idea

We each read our poems aloud to the group. Each poem was unique and so beautiful, like the women that created them.

Thank you Judith and all the beautiful women of the Taos retreat! I am missing you all, and look forward to creating together again one day. (Click here to see Judith’s awesome slide show of our weekend, and learn more about her work.)

How do you experience ebb and flow in your life?

Have a beautiful weekend friends!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

xox

xox

P.S. Early next week I’ll be launching the sale of my 2015 Daily Musing Journal. If you want to learn about my early bird special first, click here to subscribe to my email list.

2 Comments

Filed under Art & Design, Book Binding, Creativity, Friends, Journaling, Joy, Nature, Self-care

2 responses to “Ebb & Flow

  1. Lucinda the Medfield Mermaid

    Sounds like a blast. I would love to participate in one of these workshops some day. Stay tuned for viewing my fabric collage project. Twenty collages for the centers of twenty tables. I have made 16 so far.the event is tomorrow.

  2. O, Ebb and Flow id marvelous! LOVE the paintbrushes in between and all the little bits and pieces you added to make it three dimensional—last line of excellent found poem totally resonates: memory of the idea. Love that!
    Vuuuugs!

I always love to hear from you!