Daily Musings Journal – Outside the Box

week-spread

I am intrigued with where my Daily Musings Journal has begun leading me this year. Not only am I creating more visually, but I am beginning to share my journey more and more.

Besides sharing with you here, a small group of musers has gathered on Facebook. It is so exciting (= also a little scary & vulnerable feeling) to see my creation being loved by creative peeps all over the world.

Box

As I was cleaning up the piles on my studio workspace I came across the label (image left) from Boxcar Coffee beans.

I almost wanted to start this post with this image as it feels like this is where my musings are leading me as 2015 gets fully underway. Part of creating is sharing, and this is a place I still feel a bit out of my comfort zone. I stumble over over words & images as I discover my voice to share my hearts deepest dreams and desires.

It occurs to me the synchronicity of what I created with part of this coffee label – I bought these beans in Denver when I attended Creative Mornings and saw Cynthia Morris speak on taking creative chance. Putting my creative work out into the world and creating community around is taking a chance, which always put me out of my comfort zone. Take a listen to Cynthia’s inspiring talk here.

15Jan-compass-doodle

I’m thinking it is not an accident, either, that a compass appeared on my spread this week – as I continually look to discover my path to true north while sharing my creative adventures.

My day highlights still appear on just about every day square, but they have become secondary to the doodles/illustrations/collages I am creating.

I am still in love with my Staedtler markers, although intrigued by the wet mediums that some of my fellow musers have tried on their pages.

14Jan-Monarch Although #januarythaw seems to be in full swing right now, last week included some fun ski days, too. Getting outside to play and move my body always brings me back to center.

I love the shadows created by the chairlift image I used to illustrate this day. (That is me:)

I’m loving a little warm weather this week, but I hope the snow doesn’t stay away for too long as I’m looking forward to lots more ski days this season — it is only January after all.

previous-week-photo-transferLastly I wanted to share something new I played with in my journal the previous week – simple image transfer. I was playing with this for a Creative Play Night I’m guiding next week in my home town. I’ll be demonstrating this blender pen image transfer technique, and we’ll be making Valentines to ourselves.

If my musings looks like fun to you, and you missed out on getting a 2015 Daily Musings Journal, be sure to sign-up for my updates here. You’ll receive a fun printable musings playsheet to get started with right away, and you’ll be the first to learn about the 2016 Daily Musings Journal next fall!

Happy Musing, and I’d love to hear about the chances you’re taking in your creative life!

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signature

 xox

xox

P.S. For more amazing Daily Musings Journal inspiration check out my friend Kathryn’s blog here.

1 Comment

Filed under Creativity, Daily Musings Journal, Inspiration, Journaling

One response to “Daily Musings Journal – Outside the Box

  1. Pingback: Pieces & Process & Practice [art journaling] | the mountain mermaid

I always love to hear from you!