Long Time Friends Get Together

KarenDivide

Karen on the Continental Divide

Karen arrived for her first Colorado visit with me on a warm and somewhat overcast day last week. We have been talking about this visit for a few years, and it finally came together this year.

It had been a long time since we had seen one another — probably 7 or 8 years. And the last time was on her turf, near Philadelphia.

As the time for her visit grew near, it seemed mother nature was not going to cooperate with beautiful Colorado powder I was hoping to share with her on the ski slopes.

Since she had originally wanted to come to Colorado to go skiing I wasn’t sure what she would think if I suggested some other activities. To my delight she not only didn’t mind, she was excited when I suggested we might try snowshoeing and visiting Sand Dunes National Park.

I have to admit I was a little nervous before she arrived – what would she think of my small town mountain lifestyle; would she have fun?

My worries dissolved the minute she gave me a big hug at the airport. Although we live very different lives, Karen is still the same adventurous spirit Karen I met many years ago. And she was excited for the adventures of a new place, with a dear old friend.

KarenLisaCollage

Snowshoeing *** Skiing (after hiking to the top of Mirkwood at nearly 12,000 feet) *** Sand Dunes

And what great adventures we had – tromping through the snow on snowshoes, skiing at Monarch and exploring at Sand Dunes National Park; and wandering around my small town, listening to the brass ensemble at Symphonic Salida, tasting local gin at Woods Distillery, and soaking in hot springs.

Just chatting it up about all sorts of things and rekindling our friendship in person after all these years was one of the best parts of her visit.

I will hold dear the relaxing and adventurous time we spent together.

What adventure memories can you create with good friends – new or old?

xox,

lisa-mtn-mermaid-signaturexox

xox

P.S. I didn’t get to much journaling while Karen was here, but I had such fun creating an “adventures with Karen” page in my Daily Musings Journal after she headed home.

Adventures-wKarenDMJpg

You can learn more about the Daily Musings Journal here 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Musings Journal, Everyday Adventure, Friends, Journaling, Joy, My Salida Backyard, Nature

2 responses to “Long Time Friends Get Together

  1. Loved reading this, Lisa, from Havana! See how far your blogs are reading these days? Brought tears to my eyes to know your time with her was sweet and I can’t wait to hear more when I get back. Do we have a breakfast date Wednesday? The 1st? Or is it the next week? I hope it’s the 1st so I can see you soon! Xoxo -me

    >

  2. Loved reading about your adventures with Karen! My childhood friend Shirley lives in CA and visited her family in Orlando so we were able to spend a couple days together. As long time friends we pick up like we were just in the middle of a conversation. ❤ Here's to friendship long, short and everywhere in between. 🙂

I always love to hear from you!